Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Open House: Matthew Cordell, with “Cornbread and Poppy at the Carnival” and “Every Dog in the Neighborhood”

June 25 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Free

It’s always our pleasure to welcome local Caldecott Medalist Matthew Cordell to The Book Stall to meet his many fans. We are celebrating his TWO new books: Cornbread and Poppy at the Carnival and Every Dog in the Neighborhood! Drop by to chat with Matthew and get your books signed–we’ll have the new titles on hand along with Matt’s other popular books! Can’t make it to the store?

About Cornbread and Poppy at the Carnival: Cornbread does not. Poppy ADORES runny cheese. Cornbread does not. Poppy can’t WAIT to try a roller coaster. Cornbread…can. But Cornbread and Poppy are the best of friends, so when the Carnival rolls into town, Cornbread agrees to check it out. Their day promises to include fun games, yummy snacks, and big, big rides. What new things will these mice try? Celebrating both partnership and the value of what makes us individuals, young readers will find this classic odd couple irresistible as they encounter relatable issues with humor and heart.

About Every Dog in the Neighborhood: Louis wants a dog, but his Grandma insists, “There are enough dogs in the neighborhood already.” But how many dogs are in the neighborhood? Surely a sternly worded letter to City Hall will clear this up. When it turns out that City Hall doesn’t keep an official count of this essential demographic, Louis and his Grandma do their civic duty and take matters into their own hands. Together they meet all sorts of dogs with hilarious names and personalities. When they’re done, Louis’s grandmother is sure he’s missed one particularly lovable dog, a mutt named Baklava in need of a new home.

Philip Stead and Caldecott Medalist Matthew Cordell have once again shown their knack for making quirky and endearing stories about grandparent and grandchild duos in the tradition of Follow That Frog and Special Delivery.

About the Author: Matthew Cordell has illustrated many books for children including works of poetry, novels, and picture books, like Bob, Not Bob!, Leaps and Bounce, and Rooting for You! He has also created numerous picture books himself including Hope; Wish; Dream; Hello, Neighbor! The Kind and Caring World of Mister Rogers; Bear Island; and Wolf in the Snow, which was awarded the 2018 Caldecott Medal. Matthew lives in suburban Chicago with his wife, author, Julie Halpern, and their two children.

Organizer

The Book Stall
Phone:
847-446-8880
Email:
events@thebookstall.com
Website:
https://www.thebookstall.com/

Venue

The Book Stall
811 Elm St.
Winnetka, IL 60093 United States
+ Google Map