Better Makers: $1.3 Million Raised at Steppenwolf’s 40th Anniversary Gala

On Saturday, May 14th, Steppenwolf Theatre’s talented ensemble and 630 guests joined together to celebrate the theater’s 40th anniversary, making it the longest-running ensemble theater in the country. The well attended gala was able to raise almost $1.3 Million to go towards the theater’s programming which covers education, arts and community works across Chicago. Notable guests included the theater’s ensemble, Mayor Rahm Emmanuel, Board Chair Nora Daley and Chicago-born actor and previous Steppenwolf performer John C. Reilly who introduced the ensemble tribute video.

The evening included a cocktail reception, dinner and live auction all held in a stunningly decorated tent next door to the theater on Halsted. Auction items were particularly exciting with some offering up dinner with cast members from shows by Shonda Rimes like Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal. Another offered a reunion dinner with the Pulitzer Prize-winning cast of August: Osage County. After the auction guests danced the night away to co-founder Gary Sinise’s Lt. Dan Band and enjoyed after-hours cocktails at Front Bar.

Steppenwolf Artistic Director and 2016 Gala Co-Chair Anna D. Shapiro, 2016 Gala Co-Chair Liz Lefkofsky, ensemble member Martha Lavey, ensemble member and 2016 Gala Co-Chair Ian Barford, ensemble member and 2016 Gala Co-Chair Tracy Letts, Steppenwolf Trustee and 2016 Gala Co-Chair Eric Lefkofsky.
Actor John C. Reilly introduces an original video tribute honoring the Steppenwolf ensemble.
M.K. Pritzker and David Helfand
Ashley Hemphill Netzky, Anne Olaimey, Desirée Rogers and Steppenwolf Board Chair and 2016 Gala Co-Chair Nora Daley
llinois Senate President John Cullerton and Pam Cullerton. Photo Credit: Mark Campbell
Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel and Steppenwolf Trustee Henry Bienen
Actor Josh Charles and ensemble member Kate Arrington in the 1700 Theatre
Ensemble member Alana Arenas, Steppenwolf Artistic Producer and Artistic and Educational Director of Steppenwolf for Young Adults Hallie Gordon, Steppenwolf Managing Director David Schmitz, Steppenwolf ensemble member James Vincent Meredith
Kenny Mitchell, Steppenwolf Trustee L. Heather Mitchell, George Semaan, Carmita Vaughan, Antoine Jennings, Saira Rao, Elizabeth Wohlleb and Carey Albertine
Steppenwolf Co-Founder Gary Sinise plays with his Lt. Dan Band

More from Make It Better: